Rain

So as I sit here, listening to the rain, I find myself in (somewhat of) a deep thought… I love the rain! Like no umbrella, who cares if I get wet, LOVE THE RAIN. I really don’t care for umbrellas; a)because I don’t mind getting a little (or a lot) wet and b)I find them quite annoying and more of a pain than of much help. I feel sorry for my daughter. I feel as though she may or may not suffer from my disdain of umbrellas.  I find it kind of ironic that the English meaning to the name Brooklyn is water or stream. With all of that being said, I found myself pondering my love for the rain because I find it relaxes me. It calms my soul, it speaks to my spirit. This could be because I am an Aries, a true fire sign or it could be the cleansing properties water holds. Most likely a combination of the two. As an Aries I am competitive, driven, daring, enthusiastic, honest, optimistic and passionate. On the flip side of the coin, I am also, stubborn (hard-headed), moody, impatient, short-tempered, impulsive, jealous and aggressive. You can’t take the good without the bad. In life, I’ve been able to take the good and the bad and use it to become the best version of myself. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without ALL of my life experiences. And let me tell you some of them ain’t pretty and then there are some that are the most beautiful moments I’ve ever experienced, thus far. Growing up I had a pretty damn good life. I had a family that loved me, fun playing on the many different sports teams with some great friends. But I also faced some not so fun things. Like being teased for my crooked smile. That’ll do some damage to a kid. As if fitting in and feeling comfortable in your own skin weren’t hard enough as it is. In my teenage years, when all I wanted to do was go to school, play my sports and have fun. Well, that was all fine and dandy, until…my “experimental” phase turned into full blown addiction. Out of that, I found recovery. Talk about beautiful! I come from a place where it was darker than dark. Where I didn’t want to live any longer, with or without the drugs. I loved getting loaded but I hated life. Now, the process of recovery has afforded me a life that I am excited to live. A life I would not change for anything! I have a husband whom I love and who loves me. And that in and of itself is a process and can be challenging. Shoot, any relationship can be challenging. In our 7 and a half years of marriage we have overcome many obstacles, with more to overcome. The trick is we keep moving forward, we keep learning and we keep communicating. I have given birth to two of the most amazing humans. They are beautiful and brilliant, very independent (which is great, unless you’re trying to parent them), both have their own bright and colorful personalities. And just because I think they’re amazing, doesn’t mean I don’t want to throat punch them every now and again. I am very fortunate that I have been given the tools to sort thru my assets and defects. I get to see how they serve me or how they don’t. What do I want to hold onto and build upon and what do I want to change? The ebb and flow of life. I believe that when faced with a challenge I will be given the tools and strength to make it to the other side. And I can choose to come out the other side with gained knowledge and a greater understanding to my purpose in life. Today I embrace the good with gratitude and the bad with open arms to help propel me to be the best version of me. I’ll leave you with this. During the storm it might be dark and slippery but after the storm it’s never been so beautiful, clear blue skies and green hills – so fresh and so clean! It’s all about weathering the storm to get to the beauty life has to offer! Take a moment to breathe it all in. Soak in the rays of sunshine! Revel in its beauty. Before you know it, the next storm will be on the horizon. The hits just keep coming but with that comes continued growth and for that I’m most grateful! 

1 thought on “Rain”

Leave a Reply

